Awards and Recognition

Food Services

Service excellence is our primary goal at Global Connections to Employment (GCE) and has led to some significant contributions in the food services industry. We’ve also achieved honors through service to our Armed Services food services contracts.

Best in PACAF Award

Image of Best in PACAF award

The GCE team, at Two Seasons Dining Facility at the Eielson Air Force Base in Eielson, Alaska. received the title - Best Dining Facility in PACAF 2017. The GCE team exhibited excellence in management effectiveness, force readiness support, food quality, employee and customer relations, resource conservation and training, and safety awareness.

United States Army Philip A. Connelly Award

Image of USA PHilip A Connelly Award

The Courage Inn Dining Facility at Joint Base Lewis-MChord (JBLM) Army Base Fort Lewis, Tacoma, WA was recognized in 2014 and 2015 acknowledging the top military garrison in the U.S. Army.

United States Air Force Hennessy Award

Image of USAF Hennessy Award

Established in 1957, the John L. Hennessy Award is the highest honor an Air Force dining facility can attain. It was named for the late John L. Hennessy, a hotel and restaurant executive who led an advisory group responsible for improving military food service. The Hennessy Award promotes food service excellence by encouraging competition among providers. GCE achieved this award several times at two of our military contract installations:

Gold Plate Award

Image of Gold Plate Award

The major U.S. Air Force commands award the Gold Plate Award to the best food service operation within their authority. The Air Force Material Command has awarded this honor to the Eglin Air Force Base food services operations for the following years: 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009 2010, 2011 and 2012.

United States Navy Capt. Edward F. Ney Memorial Award

Image of the US Navy Capt. Edward F. Ney Memorial Award

Established in 1958, the Captain Edward F. Ney Memorial Award is the highest honor given to U.S. Navy food service operations to recognize food service excellence. The galleys honored achieve a five-star rating from the Navy evaluation team. The award is designed to improve food services by encouraging competition among food service operations. It was named for the Navy captain who served as the head of the Subsistence Division of the Bureau of Supplies and Accounts from 1940 to 1945. The following food service operations under contract with GCE have received recognition under the Ney Award program:

United States Coast Guard Forrest O. Rednour Memorial Award

Image of US Coast Guard Forrest O. Rednour Memorial Award

The Forrest O. Rednour Memorial Award for Excellence in Food Service is presented annually to recognize U.S. Coast Guard dining facilities that exemplify the best in food service professionalism. Although the award program has been in existence since 1995, in 2008 it was renamed to honor the World War II era Ships Cook Second Class who heroically helped rescue survivors of a torpedoed transport vessel only to later lose his life in the line of duty.